jump to navigation

Alight with Wonder September 27, 2013

Posted by markgeil in Philosophical musings.
trackback

weed

I am working from home today, and I put aside a thesis to go and cull weeds from a disobedient front lawn. I have bare hands and bare feet. The sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy, and the cool late September breeze makes me breathe.

A hundred – a thousand? – little ants panic when I pull up their taproot home. A wedge of geese announce their fly-by with sharp honks that sound too much like fake goose honks to be real goose honks. A shadow catches my eye, dark before I see its maker, the brightest yellow butterfly, bumbling just past my ear.

I dirty my hands, and pretend for a moment that I’m not a soft city boy. There is soil under my fingernails, and my hands are spattered brown and red. Aged, like the leaves will soon be.

The world is alight with wonder. Creativity is under our feet and over our heads and, if we take the time to touch it, in our hands.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

