jump to navigation

Grammy Day February 13, 2011

Posted by markgeil in Music, Writing.
Tags:
trackback

My vicarious Grammy experiment has been pretty successful. I’ve gotten frequent updates from Calvin Nowell of NSide management, whose artist Gungor was up for two Grammys. I’ve been posting updates throughout the day at The Sound Opinion. My favorite moment was a nervous text I received just moments before the first award was announced. I was hoping I would get a more emotional feel for what the experience was like, and sure enough, as I watched the live feed online and checked my messages, I was truly nervous!

Gungor was shut out, but I’m not too surprised. The band was a first-time nominee against much more familiar competition, and I was really surprised (but impressed) that they had even been nominated. Truly deserving, though. If you haven’t heard Beautiful Things you should check it out.

I’m looking forward to more feedback, including the band’s reactions to the telecast itself, which I’ll be watching for the next, oh, 4 or 5 hours, depending on how long it takes for Lady Gaga to hatch from her egg.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

