jump to navigation

Man music and Woman music May 20, 2010

Posted by markgeil in Music, Uncategorized.
trackback

I have a new article up at Christianity Today. You won’t know it from reading it, but it’s the result of the longest time span I’ve ever experienced from idea to pitch to publication, hands down.

The article is about the overwhelming male dominance of the Christian music charts. There’s an interesting phenomenon in Christian radio. Airplay is now strictly dictated by audience testing. The target audience is almost completely female. And the females all seem to want to hear music by males.

The genesis of the article had nothing to do with radio, or even Christian music per se. I was alphabetizing my CDs one day, years ago, and I noticed how much of my music is male. I have a lot of classic rock, and apart from the random Pat Benatar CD it’s all men. I have a little country, and again, except for the girls’ Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood CDs, it’s also all men. I have loads of 80’s music, and for every Madonna there are five Elton Johns and George Michaels and Duran Durans. (I’ll leave it up to you to decide if they’re males or not.) The majority of my tunes are Christian music, and they’re probably 80% dudes.

With that realization in mind, I started paying attention to what plays on the radio and what charts at Billboard. I pitched the article, in two or three different forms, and it was eventually accepted, then written, then rewritten, and finally published. Like I said, it won’t seem like all that when you read it!

I spoke to one multi-gender band for the article, and they pointed out that the guys like to listen to music by girls and vice versa. Clearly I seem to prefer the guy music. How come? I suppose since it’s my preference I should be able to answer the question, but I can’t.  Just seems like a natural thing. So, I’ll ask you. Do you have a preference? Do you know why? And since you people don’t seem to like to leave comments, I’ll put the question up in a nice easy poll.

And while you’re at it, check your CD collection and let me know what you find.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

