jump to navigation

Breimeier is Back! March 23, 2010

Posted by markgeil in Music.
trackback

Music fans rejoice! Russ Breimeier is back, writing his certain flavor of exceptional reviews and making me appreciate music more.

If you’re scratching your head and saying, “What’s a Breimeier?” here’s the backstory. Russ was the Christian music editor (among other things) at Christianity Today, and managed Christianmusictoday.com. In case you haven’t heard, most media outlets are suffering mightily in this economy, and Christianity Today International was no exception. So, last year, Russ was a victim of downsizing.

This event was a bit personal for me, since Russ gave me my “big break”. I had read his reviews for years and recognized him as perhaps the most articulate and sensible arbiter of what is good Christian music.  He was kind enough to answer one of my emails, and then kind enough to give me a chance at a significant four-part news series, and not too much time had passed before I had moved from reading the site to writing for it.

Since then, I’ve been able to interview my favorite artists, hang out with them, receive advance copies of their music, and share my thoughts about it all on a broader platform than I ever imagined. I’ve been interviewed on radio stations, written bios for artists, and seen my words in print and my name on the cover of a magazine. I can’t say I owe it all to Russ, but because he actively showed encouragement when a more natural response would have been discouragement, either by omission or commission, he opened a door on a path to many other doors. Needless to say, I was sad to see Russ go.

Well, Russ is back, and in fine form, writing for his own site, NoisyWhisper.com. The new site is still slim on content, but about more than just Christian music, and it’s not just reviews. If you’re following American Idol, you’ll enjoy the commentaries on that show. And given time, I expect the site will become a go-to destination.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

