jump to navigation

Happy Veterinarians Day November 12, 2009

Posted by markgeil in Awana.
trackback

vets day

Since Veterans Day was on a Wednesday this year, it coincided with our Awana program for the kids at church. One of our leaders, Mr. Tom, is currently deployed in Afghanistan, so for the last couple of weeks the kids have been collecting items to send care packages to his unit. The kids came through in spades, and Tom’s wife joined us Wednesday night to thanks the kids for their generosity and to show new pictures Tom just sent. It was a special evening.

I usually have very interesting conversations with the kids at Awana. They tend to share whatever’s going on in their life, however great or small, with wonderful enthusiasm and sincerity. Last night, a little girl came up to me as I was packing up and shared this: “My grandfather is a veterinarian.”

“Really?” I replied. “What kinds of animals does he work with?”

“I don’t know,” she said.

“Like dogs and cats, or bigger animals like horses?” I returned.

“I don’t know,” she repeated. “He was in Vietnam.”

I wondered for a few seconds why I was hearing this story about an obscure animal doctor in Southeast Asia when the light bulb finally went off.

“OH!” I declared. “You mean your grandfather is a ‘veteran’!”

“Yes,” she smiled. “He was in Vietnam.”

“Was he in the Army, or Marines, or what?” I asked.

“I don’t know,” she said again. “I just know he is a veterinarian.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

