jump to navigation

Joy in a word July 21, 2009

Posted by markgeil in Things that amuse me.
trackback

Little things make me happy. Sometimes, all it takes is a single word. Like today, when I had the occasion to type the word “awkward”.

It makes me happy that the word “awkward” looks awkward. That W-K-W combination looks funny. “K” is a rather awkward letter in the first place, since the two little arms sticking out from the trunk sometimes meet in the middle, but sometimes the upper arm dominates and the lower is relegated to branch-dom. I should know. It’s in my first name. Position that “K” between a pair of stalwart W’s and you’ve got yourself some serious awkwardness. You can’t even say it. Try it for yourself. Say “wkw” out loud. See, told ya so.

And so I sing the praise of this almost-palindrome and its crooked centerpiece and unpronouncable paired consonants.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

