jump to navigation

Behind the Scenes at GMA Week Part 7 April 22, 2009

Posted by markgeil in Music.
trackback

Another morning, another unusual breakfast. This was the media breakfast for the Provident label group, held at the Hard Rock Café. I was seated a couple of the guys from Jars of Clay and Dawn from Fireflight, along with the editor of CCM magazine. We enjoyed getting to know one another, got a preview of a new project from Mac Powell, watched a hilarious video introducing the Aussie group Revive, complete with Men at Work covers, and saw a few tremendous acoustic performances. Hats off especially to Phil Stacey (the American Idol guy), who performed a cover of the Rich Mullins song I thought no one would ever ever cover, “Hard to Get”, and to Jars of Clay, who performed “Two Hands” from their new album. Then a person in an astronaut costume brought them a cake to celebrate the album release. How odd.

By the way, although I got the Jars album a day early, I didn’t listen to it until yesterday, and let me say this: It’s brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I wish I had listened to it Monday night so I could gush to the guys Tuesday morning, but I was quite busy.

Yes, Monday night. Here’s a concert for you: TobyMac and the Diverse City Band, Mandisa, Tommy Sims, B. Reith, Angelo and Veronica, Amy Grant, Israel Houghton, a surprise appearance by Jonny Lang, a whole bunch of others I can’t remember, and the one I really wanted to see, Phil Keaggy. That was ONE CONCERT. This was my first time seeing Mr. Keaggy (Sir Keaggy?) live. You know how you can wait your whole life to see someone and have such lofty expectations that there’s no way the person can actually live up to those expectations? Well, that was me, and well, Phil DID live up to my expectations. Nay, he blew them away. He performed “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” followed by the extended, free-flowing acoustic jam I’ve always wanted to see from the master of the guitar.

I took off from there to another club to catch Lanae Hale, Matt Pappa, and downhere. I’ve been a big downhere fan for years but have also never seen them live. The vocal tandem in this band is hard to beat, and the songwriting continues to excel. Their latest album is just right for these times, and I also recommend it highly.

I did my extended interviews with Israel Houghton and Phil Stacey on Tuesday morning. Both were engaging and articulate, and both expressed a pastor’s heart. I’ll give you a heads up when these stories run.

More stories, and hopefully some audio and pictures, to come. WordPress keeps telling me I don’t have the rights to upload audio that I’ve recorded, all by myself, on my own recorder. Pretty pushy of WordPress, methinks. Any blog experts know what I might be doing wrong?

Comments»

1. Behind the Scenes at GMA Week Part 7 - April 22, 2009

[…] Original post by markgeil […]

2. mrred - April 22, 2009

Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.


Leave a Reply

