jump to navigation

Name Dropping November 6, 2008

Posted by markgeil in Music, Writing.
trackback

If you’re new to the blog (this new space is continuing a year of postings over at myccm.org), you’ll find that I do as much pretentious name-dropping as possible. For example, today I spent my lunch hour talking to rock stars on the phone. Today’s theme was: Rock stars with crazy goatees.

Well, not rock stars exactly. “Worship leaders” is probably more correct. I’m writing a series of articles on record labels for Christian Music Today, and this week I’m wrapping up a piece on sixsteps records, based right here in the ATL. Today I chatted with David Crowder and Charlie Hall. Don’t believe me about the goatees? See for yourself:

Crowder

Charlie Hall

It would take me three lifetimes to grow a beard like those. I stand in awe.

Both fellas were quite open and generous with their time. It was interesting to compare their different takes on the music business. I’ll be chatting up Chris Tomlin on Monday. He wasn’t allowed to talk to me today because he has inadequate facial hair. Plus all those other guys tease him mercilessly about how short he is.

The article should be out in the next couple of weeks. I’ll keep you posted.

Oh, one more funny thing I do along these name-dropping lines. In almost all of these phone interviews the interviewee calls the interviewer. I guess the call winds up being on their dime, so that’s good. My new phone at work has caller ID, though, so I always jot down the phone number. I know I’ll never use these numbers, and I’ll certainly never share them, but I just feel like a cool dude when I can say, for example, that I have Steven Curtis Chapman’s cell phone number. Just how shallow can one guy be?

Still, I got a particular kick out of seeing my phone say “CROWDER DAVID” this afternoon, since he’s a guy who makes some of my favorite music in the world.

Okay, back to reality and stuff that really matters.

Comments»

1. Top 9 of 2009 « A Window in the World - January 8, 2010

[…] 1. Name Dropping […]


Leave a Reply

